List: “Player of the Tournament” in all Border Gavaskar Trophy Series

We have all seen how the best players show up in the biggest of matches, and there couldn’t be any bigger stage than the Border Gavaskar Trophy itself. When two of the leading cricketing sides contest in the toughest of formats, the hardest of characters shine bright and will not be just the Player of the moments but the tournament.

This article will list the winners of the Man of the Series awards in all the Border-Gavaskar trophy tournaments since its inception in 1996.

Key Stats

The 1996 edition has only one Test in that series, so we have named the Player of the Match, Nayan Mongia, in the PoT spot, but we haven’t included him in the counts below.

Eight out of 14 times, an Indian player has received the MoS recognition, whereas Australian players have won it 5 times.


In article image middle

Sachin Tendulkar has won the Player of the Tournament in the BGT series thrice. Sachin, the leading run-scorer in BGT tournament history, is the only person to win it more than once.

Eight times batters have won the award, whereas bowlers have won it six times, considering Ravindra Jadeja as a bowler as he was the leading wicket-taker(25) of that edition but not part of the top ten run-scorers. Ravichandran Ashwin and Jadeja, two of the top-5 wicket-takers in the tournament, have one MOS in the Test series against Australia.

Sachin and Pat Cummins are the only two players to win the award in the losing causes for their respective teams.

As mentioned in the table with a (C), Sachin and Michael Clarke have been the BGT MoS playing as captains.

Also Read: 10 Unbreakable Sachin Tendulkar Records Ever!


In article ad end

Buvanesh Thiraviam - writer in Cricindeed

A Cricket Blogger | Blogs at

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *